Relationship with Food | What I Eat in a Day

***IMPORTANT: I MOVED TO whenshewanders.com! THIS POST CAN BE FOUND HERE.***

Towards the end of high school, I started developing a really bad relationship with food. I put on weight, and I was unhappy with myself. In the first two years of university, it was a vicious cycle of restricting myself to x amount of calories a day, feeling shitty, binge eating, feeling shitty again for binge eating, restricting myself, and so on. It felt like I had no self control over food- I had no moderation, it was basically either eating everything or eating barely anything.

I think it was around the end of third year in university when I finally was determined to turn around this mindset. It was a combination of picking up healthy hobbies such as hiking and jogging, and making the conscious effort to think more positively.

Now, I am really happy to say that I finally have a good relationship with food. I definitely am not the healthiest eater (I still love snacking throughout the day), but I do try to make sure I am eating relatively healthy and no longer beat myself up when I slip up and eat too much junk food.

With that story out of the way, here is what I ate today:

Breakfast: yogurt topped with berries, bananas, and granola + coffee
This is one of my go to breakfasts if I don’t feel like turning on the stove/toaster oven! I know a lot of people don’t really eat breakfast, but I am definitely a big advocate of having a decent breakfast! (partly because back in uni, if I ever skipped breakfast, my stomach would 99% grumble super loudly in lecture…)
food1

Lunch: (leftover) curry over half white half five grain rice
food2

Snacks: okay, I definitely had more than apples as snacks throughout the day (psssst note the peppermint kisses in the background!), but I did not think it was necessary to take photos of the couple of pringles and random snacks I had.food4

Dinner: baked sweet potatoes, stir fried broccoli and tomatoes, swedish meatballs (hello Ikea)
Honestly, colorful food just makes meals look so much more appetizing. Also, did not discover how easy and yummy baked sweet potatoes are until a few days ago! You literally just have to slice ’em, toss on some olive oil and seasoning, and throw them in the oven.
food5

3 thoughts on “Relationship with Food | What I Eat in a Day

Leave a Reply

